The Commission for Global Road Safety, led by Rt. Hon. Lord Robertson of Port Ellen, was established as an independent commission by the FIA Foundation in 2006 with a remit to examine the framework for, and level of, international cooperation on road safety, and to make policy recommendations. The Commission now forms the policy committee of the Make Roads Safe charity (UK registered number 1153261).

The members of the Commission serve in a personal capacity and have been chosen for their particular knowledge and expertise in road safety, development and related issues. Each has an extremely distinguished record of achievement in his or her field of work. Commissioners come from each of the World regions, and high, middle and low income countries, bringing varied perspectives to the table.

The Commission published its first report ‘Make Roads Safe: a new priority for sustainable development’ in June 2006. The report took the WHO/World Bank World Report on road traffic injury prevention, published in 2004, as its policy basis and examines ways in which the international community could be encouraged to raise its commitment and funding to global road safety in order to implement the recommendations of the World Report. The Commission’s Make Roads Safe report was widely welcomed across the world as an important contribution to raising the profile of global road traffic injuries. One of its key recommendations, for a first ever Ministerial-level global conference on road safety, was subsequently adopted by the UN General Assembly and led to the First Global Ministerial Conference on Road Safety, hosted by President Dmitry Medvedev of Russia, in Moscow in November 2009. The Commission’s second report, ‘Make Roads Safe: a decade of action for road safety’, published in May 2009, proposed a UN Decade of Action for Road Safety, as well as a ‘five pillar’ road safety policy framework for the Decade. The UN General Assembly subsequently proclaimed the ‘Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-2020’ in March 2010, with one hundred governments co-sponsoring the resolution.